Competency Development
for Environmental Health Specialists

Environmental health specialists have prescribed technical training requirements in NC. The key resource for these trainings is the NC Environmental Health State of Practice Committee.

On a national level, core non-technical competencies for environmental health specialists have also been developed. There are 14 non-technical core competencies grouped into three primary functions: Assessment, Management and Communication.

This page will assist environmental health specialists to identify learning resources to meet training needs around these non-technical competencies and to enhance technical training.

Your professional roadmap

step 1Review the environmental health specialist non-technical core competencies

step 2Assess your skills

step 3Search for learning opportunities

Last updated June 11, 2014